Global Postural Re-education

Global Postural Re-education (RPG® – Rééducation Posturale Globale) is a physiotherapy method developed in 1980 by Philippe Souchard, a French physiotherapist.

 

His manual therapy method offers a new way of looking at musculoskeletal disorders, and thus a new approach to treating them. The RPG® method – which is constantly evolving – is based on an in-depth analysis of anatomy, biomechanics, muscle physiology, and neuromuscular coordination. It differs from other methods in its original approach to the static function.

 

Injuries, frequent repetition of movements required to perform everyday tasks and work- and sports-related activities, and maintaining postures for extended periods of time, cause muscle fibres to shorten, making them more resistant to stretching. Muscles that become retracted in this way hinder movement, modify posture, and create imbalances in joints. This results in pain, inflammation, compression in joints, loss of range of motion, tendinitis, and muscle tears.

 

As RPG® treatment lengthens muscle fibres, it can be used to treat morphological deformities, restricted range of motion, and muscle, joint, vertebral disc and ligament pain.

Find a practitioner

Find an RPG®-certified practitioner near you!

News

Latest RPG® news

Course calendar

Foundation course

Advanced courses

Refresher courses

Global Active Stretching (SGA®)

Philippe Souchard’s passion

Philippe Souchard, the French physiotherapist who developed the Global Posture Re-education method, gives us glimpse of his passion for the human body that has driven him for more than 40 years. He also shares with us the foundations and principles underlying the RPG® method.

 

“I am convinced that our profession is an absolutely amazing and wonderful profession; a profession in which there is still much more progress to be made…

How is it that we are bipeds? With such a small support polygon? It’s absolutely amazing! In fact, it’s so amazing that it’s not surprising that such complexity comes at a price! And the price to pay are the disorders that we are prone to.

Why? What is the ultimate purpose of my being able to stand upright? What is the ultimate purpose of the movements I can perform? … “

 

These are the questions that Philippe Souchard has constantly sought to answer – with a good dose of common sense – in his ongoing quest to gain a better understanding of how the human body works as a whole.

This documentary was produced by the Spanish RPG® Association.

Global Active Stretching

 

Global Active Stretching (SGA®) is an original and effective method of stretching based on RPG® principles.

 

more >

Sign up for our newsletter

Rééducation Posturale Globale

« Il n’y a qu’un pas de la déformation morphologique à la lésion articulaire et inversement. » Philippe Souchard

La Rééducation Posturale Globale (R.P.G.) est une méthode de kinésithérapie créée en 1980 par le kinésithérapeute français Philippe Souchard.

 

Cette méthode de thérapie manuelle offre une nouvelle vision de la pathologie musculo-squelettique et par conséquent une nouvelle approche de traitement. En constante évolution, elle se base sur une étude approfondie de l’anatomie, de la bio-mécanique, de la physiologie musculaire et de la coordination neuro-musculaire. Elle se distingue d’autres méthodes par son approche originale sur la fonction statique.

 

Les traumatismes, la répétition des gestes quotidiens, professionnels ou sportifs ainsi que les positions longtemps maintenues, amènent les fibres musculaires à devenir plus résistantes à l’étirement et à se raccourcir. Les muscles ainsi rétractés deviennent un frein au mouvement, modifient la posture et créent un déséquilibre articulaire. Ils sont alors source de douleurs, d’inflammations, de compressions articulaires et de perte d’amplitude, d’arthrose, de tendinites, de déchirures musculaires.

 

Le traitement en R.P.G. permet un allongement des fibres musculaires. Il apporte une solution aux déformations morphologiques et aux limitations d’amplitudes articulaires ainsi qu’aux douleurs musculaires, articulaires, discales ou ligamentaires.

Trouver un thérapeute

Trouvez un kinésithérapeute formé en RPG proche de chez vous !

News

Les dernières actualités de la RPG.

Agenda des formations

Formation de base

Formations supérieures

Recyclage

SGA

La passion de Philippe Souchard

Philippe Souchard, kinésithérapeute et créateur de la Rééducation Posturale Globale, nous livre ici une part de sa passion pour le corps humain qui l’anime depuis plus de 40 ans. Il nous fait également part des fondements et des principes de traitements de la R.P.G.

 

“Je suis convaincu que nous avons une profession absolument extra-ordinaire, absolument merveilleuse, dont on n’est pas encore arrivé aux limites…

Comment est-ce qu’on peut être bipède ? Avec un polygone de sustentation tellement réduit ? C’est extra-ordinaire ! Et c’est tellement extra-ordinaire qu’on ne peut pas s’étonner qu’il y ait un prix de la complexité à payer ! Ce prix de la complexité à payer, ce sera la pathologie.

A quoi ça sert ? Quelle est la finalité de ma position debout ? Quelle est la finalité de mes gestes ? … “

 

Une question qu’il ne cesse de se poser avec bon sens, pour comprendre toujours davantage le fonctionnement du corps humain dans sa globalité.

Ce documentaire est une production de l’association espagnole de RPG.

Stretching Global Actif

 

Le Stretching Global Actif (SGA) est une méthode d’étirement performante et originale qui découle des principes de la RPG.

 

en savoir plus >

Inscription à la newsletter